OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Aug 07, 2020 9:49 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:06 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:13 am
Posts: 1084
Hi,

Does any of you know if the framebuffer located at BAR #2 has to be mapped via the GTT in order for updates to be applied.
Right now I cannot get it to work, I've tried everything. Mode settings works perfectly but writes to the framebuffer are not being displayed.
Is it possible that the newer versions of the GPU chip require you to map the framebuffer before it can be used?

_________________
OS: Basic OS
About: 32 Bit Monolithic Kernel Written in C++ and Assembly, Custom FAT 32 Bootloader


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2020 8:50 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 741
The BIOS will configure a small part of the GTT for the VBE framebuffer (and/or its own use). If you want to use large amounts of VRAM, however, you have to modify the GTT.

Intel's documentation outlines several restrictions on how VRAM can be accessed, e.g., in some cases, you may only access it through the BAR and not by modifying physical RAM.

_________________
managarm: Microkernel-based OS capable of running a Wayland desktop (Discord: https://discord.gg/7WB6Ur3). My OS-dev projects: [mlibc: Portable C library for managarm, qword, Linux, Sigma, ...] [LAI: AML interpreter] [xbstrap: Build system for OS distributions].


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 12:28 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:13 am
Posts: 1084
Korona wrote:
The BIOS will configure a small part of the GTT for the VBE framebuffer (and/or its own use). If you want to use large amounts of VRAM, however, you have to modify the GTT.

Intel's documentation outlines several restrictions on how VRAM can be accessed, e.g., in some cases, you may only access it through the BAR and not by modifying physical RAM.


Right now I don't need any large amounts of VRAM, just a simple 1920x1080x32 framebuffer. That should equal to around 8 MB in size.
What do you mean "through the BAR and not by modifying physical RAM"? How else would you set pixels if not via physical RAM?

This code should render the entire screen purple, but it doesn't do anything.
Framebuffer is obtained from the BAR #2.
I can see that the mode is set (via the display menu, it say 1920 x 1080, 68 kHz, 60Hz and all that stuff).
Code:
for(uint32_t i = 0; i < (1920 * 1080); i++)
{
     framebuffer[i] = 0xFF1389FF;
}

_________________
OS: Basic OS
About: 32 Bit Monolithic Kernel Written in C++ and Assembly, Custom FAT 32 Bootloader


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:24 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 741
Do you set the base address of the framebuffer? You could dump the GTT and see if it has memory mapped or not.

By "only access it through the BAR" I meant that you're not supposed to look up the physical addresses of the pages mapped to the GTT and manipulate them directly (e.g. if the GTT maps page 0x1234000 to offset 0, you're not supposed to change the framebuffer through physical address 0x1234000 but through offset 0 of the BAR). While such accesses work for some usages, they cause cache coherency issues for others (including framebuffer access, IIRC).

_________________
managarm: Microkernel-based OS capable of running a Wayland desktop (Discord: https://discord.gg/7WB6Ur3). My OS-dev projects: [mlibc: Portable C library for managarm, qword, Linux, Sigma, ...] [LAI: AML interpreter] [xbstrap: Build system for OS distributions].


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2020 2:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:13 am
Posts: 1084
Korona wrote:
Do you set the base address of the framebuffer? You could dump the GTT and see if it has memory mapped or not.

By "only access it through the BAR" I meant that you're not supposed to look up the physical addresses of the pages mapped to the GTT and manipulate them directly (e.g. if the GTT maps page 0x1234000 to offset 0, you're not supposed to change the framebuffer through physical address 0x1234000 but through offset 0 of the BAR). While such accesses work for some usages, they cause cache coherency issues for others (including framebuffer access, IIRC).


If you mean PLANE_SURF (DSPASURF) then yes, I set it to 0. (Doe, Linux sets it to 0x010C0000 on my machine, where does that address come from?)
It says in the manual: "It represents an offset from the graphics memory aperture base and is mapped to physical pages through the global GTT".
I always thought of it as an offset from the BAR? Is that wrong?
"...and is mapped to" by who, me or the card itself?
I'm not "looking anything up" really, not touching the GTT at all.

Edit:
GTT dump:
01 00 00 7C 00 00 00 00 01 10 00 7C 00 00 00 00
01 20 00 7C 00 00 00 00 01 30 00 7C 00 00 00 00
01 40 00 7C 00 00 00 00 01 50 00 7C 00 00 00 00
01 60 00 7C 00 00 00 00 01 70 00 7C 00 00 00 00
....you get the idea

_________________
OS: Basic OS
About: 32 Bit Monolithic Kernel Written in C++ and Assembly, Custom FAT 32 Bootloader


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Intel HD Graphics: GTT Framebuffer Question
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:56 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:13 am
Posts: 1084
Bump, anyone? :D
Any Linux GPU people around maybe?

_________________
OS: Basic OS
About: 32 Bit Monolithic Kernel Written in C++ and Assembly, Custom FAT 32 Bootloader


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: beyondsociety, Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group