OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:13 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: About the license used
PostPosted: Sat May 25, 2019 3:26 am 

I'm doing translation projects myself and I'm thinking about translating your projects in the future and publishing it on my blog. In doing so, I try to respect the copyrights of people. Are all of the content in your wiki licensed with CC0? I think your license situation is a little complicated.

If you have the CC0 license that I think is public domain, I think you should add a notification to a part of the page.

I'm not an expert on this. So your opinions can guide me.

Post subject: Re: About the license used
PostPosted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:57 am 

Unfortunately, in the beginning the Wiki/FAQ did not have a license. People were collaborating on it in the hopes it might be helpful to others, without worrying about legalese involved.

There has been an attempt to get all contributions retroactively CC0 licensed (thanks for the hard work put into it, Combuster!), but that process was never actually finished:

OSDev_Wiki:License wrote:
As from 03-07-2011, all new content has to be strictly compatible with Public Domain licensing. All authors of existing material will be attempted to be informed of the new official license declaration. Any author not in agreement of the new license(s) can have their content removed or choose to dual license their work. This does not apply to forum content in which all posts are owned by the author.

That means that currently the contents of this wiki is of mixed licensing.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:57 pm 

Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance