OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 4:02 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: ToaruOS 2.0
PostPosted: Sat Dec 11, 2021 6:21 pm 

tl;dr: https://github.com/klange/toaruos/releases/tag/v2.0.0

I have been working on ToaruOS for eleven years now, which is kind of amazing to think about. I set the target goals for 2.0 all the way back in 2013: 64-bit and SMP. It has been a long journey, and a lot of things happened on the way there, but now I am quite happy to finally announce that ToaruOS 2.0 is ready.

The main selling point of this release is Misaka - a new 64-bit, SMP-capable kernel with a rebuilt core and a port of the original system call layers from ToaruOS's previous kernel (which never got a proper name, but I've taken to calling "toaru32" for clarity). Misaka's memory management, startup code, and large parts of process management are new and were written with multicore systems in mind, but the VFS and the bulk of device drivers remain mostly the same, which made porting the complete ToaruOS "NIH" userspace to the new platform a breeze.

ToaruOS 2.0 also brings a number of improvements to that userspace, including:
- A new TrueType text rasterizer engine.
- Affine transformation rendering in the graphics library.
- The latest build of Kuroko, my implementation of a dialect of Python.
- Updated packages in the repository, including a new port of Doom with support for sound effects.
- Process tracing tools powered by new functionality in Misaka, including a stepping debugger (`dbg`), system call tracer, `strace`, and two resource monitors (`top` and `cpuwidget`).

ToaruOS's bootloaders also got a considerable revamp with new graphical menus and support for disk boot.

ToaruOS remains an ongoing project, and I have set out a roadmap for the next few releases.

Post subject: Re: ToaruOS 2.0
PostPosted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 7:54 pm