OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 4:35 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: volunteering
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 8:23 am 

Do any operating system projects need a volunteer to build apps in C? I'm trying to find a project that I can volunteer for. I have my own basic package manager/build system written using C and shell scripts. I've built a lot of lightweight cross-platform Open Source C/C++ applications on Linux, Windows, AIX and even FreeDOS. I have a lot of experience porting applications from one compiler or operating system to another.

Post subject: Re: volunteering
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 12:26 pm 

lmemsm wrote:
Do any operating system projects need a volunteer to build apps in C? I'm trying to find a project that I can volunteer for. I have my own basic package manager/build system written using C and shell scripts. I've built a lot of lightweight cross-platform Open Source C/C++ applications on Linux, Windows, AIX and even FreeDOS. I have a lot of experience porting applications from one compiler or operating system to another.

Hi, I believe my project (Tilck) could benefit from some help. It's a Linux-compatible kernel, with already plenty of Linux usermode applications running on it, but it's far from being production-ready. A C or C++ developer, even if interested just in usermode software, could help a lot.

When it's about contributors, I'm flexible and I'll plan to accept any kind of contribution, as long as it's useful to Tilck or any of my other projects. In other words, if the patches are technically good and move any aspect of the project forward, that's enough for me because having contributions per se adds a huge value to an open source project. If the contributor gets seriously interested in the project, over time he/she will naturally start contributing to other parts of the project as well: that's why any piece of code is a good start.

Some ideas to work on