OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:58 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Pikobrain
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2021 8:14 am 

Pikobrain is a 16-bit OS I've been coding since 2019.
It uses BIOS interrupts to deal with hardware, and this allows it to only be 5kB in size.

https://github.com/Hanzlu/Pikobrain

Pikobrain does not have a proper file system, instead you access sectors and tracks/heads on the hard drive with their number.
This means files are automatically 512 bytes, and a folder is most likely about 32kB in size.

Pikobrain uses the hexadecimal number system in commands, but there are convertors between decimal and hexadecimal, to simplify the process.

Pikobrain has a custom assembly language and assembler, a text editor, and a calculator.

It is certainly not like other OSes, and I do not wish for it to be either. A core philosophy for developing Pikobrain has been to write all the code myself, and to not use any standards or ideas others have created (besides the BIOS I guess).
Small code size, but not at the expense of user-friendliness (too much) has been a goal as well.

Since version 1.0 it has worked on real hardware. At the time of writing this the OS is at version 1.3.6.

Here is a screenshot:

Post subject: Re: Pikobrain
PostPosted: Mon Jul 05, 2021 4:06 am 

It's good to see another system using blocks in place of files. :) I keep my hobby notes in a Forth system with 1KB blocks; it's much easier to organize than text files. 1KB works out pretty well for me, but this is with fixed-length lines. Part of the 1KB is inevitably wasted as padding on the ends of lines. 1/2KB with actual newlines would give me almost as much space. I don't have "bulk". Sometimes wish I did, but if I could join blocks like that, I'd end up with something hard to organize again.