OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Sun Aug 09, 2020 3:28 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:41 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:20 pm
Posts: 38
Location: San Diego, CA
Main(Custom):
Motherboard: BFG nVidia nForce 680i
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0 GHz
RAM: 4 GB DDR2 800
Video Card: BFG nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX OC
Optical Drive: HP DVD Reader/Burner
Hard Drive: Seagate 250 GB SATA
Floppy Drive: Yes

Secondary(Upgraded Gateway GT5228)
Motherboard: Stock, idk
CPU: AMD Athalon 64 X2 4200+
RAM: 2 GB DDR2 3500?
Video Card: PNY nVidia GeForce 9500 GT
Optical Drive: Stock DVD-ROM
Hard Drive: Western Digital 250 GB SATA

Tesbed 1(IBM ThinkPad 560)
CPU: Intel Pentium
RAM: 40 MB
Hard Drive: 773 MB IDE

Testbed 2(A.A.C. 486? Thats what it says on the front)
CPU: Intel 80486
Hard Drive: Maxtor 100 MB
I have no idea about the rest of the specs because this thing is older than I am, never seen anything like it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 2:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2008 6:11 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Germany
Hi,

if someone likes to test on an old machine, i have a polished one fetched from my attic:

COMPAQ Portable 486c/66 "Sewing Machine" (like the one there http://www.mcamafia.de/mycomp/mycomp03.htm; i am currently too lazy to take own pictures)

Intel 486DX2 66MHz
24MB RAM
3,5" 1,44MB FDD
512MB Flash HDD (faster and quieter than stock HDD)
Compaq AVGA Graphics and up to 640x480x256 colors or 800x600x16 colors TFT display

EISA-Bus
3Com EtherLink III ISA (3C509)
Adaptec AIC-6260 SCSI Host Adapter (but no other hardware)
Compaq SpeedPaq 144 Slot Modem on COM2
Additional IO-Card with serial and parallel interface
Dallas DS1397 Realtime-Clock
PC-Speaker
PS/2 Keyboard
PS/2 Mouse

"BIOS" Configuration Tool on HDD (normal for COMPAQ)

Manual:
http://bizsupport.austin.hp.com/bc/docs ... 135743.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 12:45 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 142
I have a bunch of old and non-x86 test beds if anyone ever ends up needing one:
PowerComputing PowerCenter Pro (180MHz PowerPC 604e)
PowerComputing PowerBase (200MHz PowerPC 603e)
Apple Power Macintosh Performa 6400/180 (180MHz 603e)
Apple Power Macintosh Performa 6115CD (66MHz 601)
Apple Power Macintosh G3 beige (266MHz PowerPC 750)
Apple Power Macintosh G3 B&W (300MHz PowerPC 750, NewWorld firmware[1])
Apple iMac G3 (233MHz PowerPC 750, NewWorld firmware[1])

Commodore Amiga 500 unexpanded (1MB RAM, 68000, no MMU[2])
Apple Macintosh Quadra 610 (full 68040)

AT-class 286 w/2MB (IIRC) RAM, 32MB MFM hard drive, 5-1/4" & 3-1/2" floppy, VGA-spec video card [3]
Baby-AT 386 w/CD attached to SB32 sound card, 5-1/4" & 3-1/2" floppy, 500MB ATA HD, Trident TVGA8900C, 16MB RAM
Toshiba 486 laptop, 12MB RAM, no optical drives, standard interfaces + APM BIOS that works properly.
Ancient Toshiba 286 'portable', 1MB RAM, 20MB MFM hard drive, 3-1/2" floppy. I haven't delved into it much, I think it's a CGA-compatible controller hooked to an amber LCD
XT-class NCR machine, 256k of RAM, will be 640k when I get around to finding the DIP switch settings, 32MB MFM hard drive, 1x 5-1/4" floppy. MDA-compatible controller.

Various standard and compaq (standard-ish, strange PIC behavior) pentium-class systems, a few athlons. Ask about these if you care about the specs.

[1] PLEASE test any kernel you send me for these on qemu-system-powerpc with -M mac99, openbios installed, and supply a memory dump after it's loaded. These machines have writable firmware.
[2] This system is interesting, I can supply the programmers' hardware reference, if anyone cares, it is not capable of memory protection.
[3] Due to a BIOS bug, this system does not load option ROMs, so only boots from floppy, and can only boot from the 5-1/4" drive.

Footnote: For the even more esoteric among us, I can also test on playstation 1, playstation 2, Nintendo Gameboy Advance, Nintendo DS, and original Gameboy.
I know these are considered outside the scope, but for anyone with motivation problems, I highly recommend trying these. They will teach you hardware-level programming
in a fun and interesting way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:56 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:48 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Brazil
I use a very very old computer that I bought for R$ 20, about USD 12, but customized it by myself(costs me R$ 50, about USD 28). I've made it to be simple, but very functional to test my system on a physical machine.

Motherboard: SiS(I will check the model and post here)
CPU: Pentium 3
RAM: 128 MB
Video Card: SiS OnBoard
Optical Drive: N/A
Hard Drive: 2 GB IDE
Floppy Drive: 2 Floppys

_________________
About.Me - Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:10 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:26 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Roseville, California (USA)
I'd be willing to test your OS (just PM me) with my hard disk removed.

My only computer system:
Processor: Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale; 2.93GHz; 2MB L2 Cache; 64-bit and virtualization supported
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-EP43T-USB3; Intel P43 USB 3.0; ATX
RAM: 2 x 2GB DDR3; A-DATA Gaming Series
Video: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 5750; 1GB Video Memory; 128-bit GDDR5; PCI Express 2.0 (x16)
CD/DVD: Sony DVD+-R/W; IDE drive

Mobo Specs:
FSB: 1600(O.C.)/1333/1066/800MHz; CPU utilizes 1066MHz FSB
North Bridge: Intel P43
South Bridge: Intel ICH10
PCI: 1 PCI Expression 2.0 (x16) slot; 3 PCI Express (x1) slots; 2 PCI slots
PATA: 1 x ATA133
SATA: 6 x 3Gb/s
Audio: Realtek ALC888; 8 channels
LAN: Realtek 8111D
PS/2: 2 ports
USB: 6 x USB 2.0; 2 x USB 3.0; 4 x Onboard USB 2.0
S/PDIF Out: 1 x Optical; 1 x Coaxial
Audio Ports: 6

Video Specs:
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5750 @ 700MHz w/ 720 stream processing units
Memory: 1GB @ 4.6Gbps; 128-bit interface, GDDR5
API: Direct3D 11; OpenGL 4.0
Display: 2560 x 1600; 1 x HDMI; 1 x Display Port; 2 x DVI; NOTE: My monitor only supports 1600x900. Going to replace with a certain 1920x1080 HD TV supporting HDMI soon, if everything goes according to plan.

I'm not sitting at my computer right now, I'll post as much device information as I can when I get a chance (such as PCI vendor/device information and CPUID info). If any more information is needed, just request it. I'll edit this post.

Cheers,
-Aaron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 4:46 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:48 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Brazil
Good test bed mate. ;)

_________________
About.Me - Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 5:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:26 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Roseville, California (USA)
Thanks. :) I quite like the idea of this whole test bed thing; it's a good way to group together our resources. So, if anyone would like me to test out their OS on my computer, I would be happy to.

Note: I may not do so immediately. I might, for example, cluster together requests (if I receive more than one) and test them all at once. I can also record video of the process if anyone requests it; I'll record anyway, but I'll provide the video if anyone requests.

Cheers,
-Aaron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 10:58 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 1:48 pm
Posts: 201
Location: Brazil
AaronMiller wrote:
Thanks. :) I quite like the idea of this whole test bed thing; it's a good way to group together our resources. So, if anyone would like me to test out their OS on my computer, I would be happy to.

I'm going to test here on my Eee PC ;)

_________________
About.Me - Blog


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jul 06, 2010 9:27 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:26 pm
Posts: 81
Location: Roseville, California (USA)
I just acquired a new set of hardware; I'm waiting for it to arrive. It's an iMac with a PowerPC 970 (G5) processor clocked at 1.8GHz (64-bit supported), 2GB RAM, and a 300GB HDD. It's the iMac G5 17" if anyone needs more specifications. It has three USB ports and two FireWire "400" ports, according to the specifications. Like my computer, please no HDD writes.

On a side note, I've received a test request and am going to buy some blank CDs later (no free thumb drives atm). So I should be able to test today, and leave results from my phone. Most of the time I post here it's through my Android phone.

Cheers,
-Aaron


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2010 9:22 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2010 9:04 pm
Posts: 56
Location: Somewhere else.
I guess I can contribute some of the systems I have laying around for OS testing.

Current Test Systems:

Machine 1 (Laptop, only able to test occasionally on it, and only if you provide the source):
Mobo: Sony Unknown
CPU: Intel i7-740qm (4 cores / 8 threads)
Ram: 8GiB DDR3
GPU: Nvidia GT425m

Machine 2:
Mobo: Asus K8N-DRE/SATA
CPU: 2x Opteron 252 (2.6ghz, Single-Core, 64 bit, Socket 939)
Ram: 4GiB DDR PC2100 ECC
GPU: Radeon HD 4670

Machine 3:
Mobo: Apple Unknown (iMac C2D A1200)
CPU: Core 2 Duo T7400 (2.16ghz, Dual-Core, 64 bit, LGA775)
Ram: 1GiB DDR2 SO-DIMM (PC2-5300)
GPU: NVidia GeForce 7200 GT

Machine 4:
Mobo: Apple Unknown (Macbook Pro A1226)
CPU: Core 2 Duo (model unknown) 2.2ghz
Ram: 2GiB DDR2
GPU: Nvidia 8600m GT


All desktops have an IDE CD drive, SATA/IDE HDD, and floppy drive if needed. PM me if you wish to have me test your OS on one of them.
[Also, if anyone has any PowerPC OS's, I have a Powerbook G4 and an iBook G3 that could possibly be used for testing]

_________________
Wait... What?


Last edited by Yargh on Fri Apr 29, 2011 5:21 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Fri Jul 30, 2010 11:55 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:00 pm
Posts: 285
For anyone that can make an iso, I've got a pretty modern laptop.

Phenom II X4 1.6(MMX, SSE{1|2|3|4a}, AMD-V)
4 GB DDR3
ATI Radeon HD 4250
500GB SATA HDD(But that's off limits!)


Attachments:
File comment: For anything else you could want to know, here's a CPU-Z .txt report. It was too big, so I zipped it.
CPU-Z - Tyler-PC.zip [12.48 KiB]
Downloaded 149 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 11:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2009 1:00 am
Posts: 13
Just got a free machine to use for testing.

800MHz P3
512MB ram
Riva TNT2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:37 pm
Posts: 812
Location: The Fire Nation
riva tnt was common i guess, i have 5 of those cards for my test beds


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 6:12 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 11:00 pm
Posts: 54
Here is my pc:

CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Motherboard: ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
Chipset: Intel 975X
Sound: SB Line! 24-bit
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT
Hard Disk Space: 1.5TB
BD/DVD Drive: HL-DT-ST BDDVDRW GGC-H20M ATA
Monitors: 2 x LGW2234S
Networking (Ethernet): 2 x Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit
Networking (Wireless): Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11b/g 54Mbps USB 2.0 Adapter (Attached to motherboard)
Ports: 1 x Serial Port
IEEE 1394: Texas Instruments 1394 OHCI Compliant Host


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Test Beds
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2011 11:48 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 3:54 am
Posts: 169
Location: Brighton, United Kingdom
This is my actual PC but I have a spare drive that can probably be used for testing.

CPU: AMD Phenom II @ 4.1 GHz
Motherboard: MSI, not sure about the model, with AMI BIOS
RAM: 2 GiB OCZ @ 1333 MHz
Graphics: ATi Radeon 4300/4500 series (IDK which one; should be getting a GTX 460 soon though)
/dev/sda: 2 TiB Samsung SpinPoint F4
/dev/sdb: 20 GiB; don't know any other details. This drive is more than ten years old. It has Windows 2k on it. Not entirely sure if it still works (but I can put it in the case and see if necessary).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 112 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group