OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 9:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Is the kernel the first task executed by the system ?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 1:35 pm 

Hi everyone,

I'm new to in the osdev world and I decided to first write a simple bootloader as a warm-up before diving in the kernel stuff.
I understood that the bootloader must switch the CPU to protected prior to jumping to the kernel code so I read Intel Software Developer's Manual and in Volume 3, section 9.9.1 Switching to Protected Mode and it's said that after switching to protected mode the system must execute a task (even if the system won't use hardware multitasking). That implies setting up a TSS etc before switching to PM.
I conclude that the kernel must be the first task executed by the system and that this must be done a few instructions after switching to PM.

The wiki pages about bootloaders don't tell much about this so I'm wondering if a bootloader must really execute the kernel as the first task of the system ? Or is it the job of some sort of "kernel first stage" ?

Thank you

Post subject: Re: Is the kernel the first task executed by the system ?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:22 pm 

I don't think you need to load the TR register until you run your first usermode code, provided you don't use hardware task-switching. This is because the TSS contains the kernel mode stack.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:50 pm 

rdos wrote:
I don't think you need to load the TR register until you run your first usermode code, provided you don't use hardware task-switching. This is because the TSS contains the kernel mode stack.

This is correct. You don't need to setup a TSS to get your kernel started.

bobgimax wrote:
I conclude that the kernel must be the first task executed by the system and that this must be done a few instructions after switching to PM.