OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Virtualization and disk management
PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:35 am 

The one thing that keeps me far from attempting to write a proper operating system is disk management (reading & writing) through a virtual machine, such as QEMU. I have little to no knowledge about file systems and am not sure how disk images work. So my question is, how do I manage the files in a virtual disk and read through it, in the most basic way possible?

~ regards, thEsp

Post subject: Re: Virtualization and disk management
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 4:15 pm 

It's pretty common to mount the disk image so it appears like a physical disk under your host OS. On Linux (and other Unix-likes), you can do that with a loopback device. On Windows, you can use diskpart.

This method can be difficult to automate, and it requires your host OS to support the filesystem you're using, so you may want to find or write specialized tools to work directly with disk images.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 8:39 pm 

thEsp wrote:
The one thing that keeps me far from attempting to write a proper operating system is disk management (reading & writing) through a virtual machine, such as QEMU. I have little to no knowledge about file systems and am not sure how disk images work. So my question is, how do I manage the files in a virtual disk and read through it, in the most basic way possible?

One way is to not use a disk image but a normal directory. For example in my makefile I have:
Code:
qemu-system-x86_64 -hda fat:rw:mountdir [more options...]

where mountdir is a normal directory on my Linux host OS.

Greetings
Peter

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 5:25 am