OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: NIce Programming paradigms in OS Kernel [SOFT QUESTION]
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:32 am 

Hello,

I am new to OS kernel. I am wondering if there any applications of some nice programming paradigms like Dynamic programming, approximation, randomized, flow algorithms etc., in OS kernel such as Linux or any other kernel. I looked at some parts of kernel (very few) the most complex I found were RCU data structures and its whole procastination freeing system and combining trees. I didn't look at ext4 filesystem and many other subsystems. So, I was wondering experts in this wonderful forum might have some thoughts on it. I am skeptical about kernel having many complex algorithms due its low latency demands typically in in microseconds and due to less input size in most cases unlike once we get in Competitive programming.

So it would be wonderful if you share some nice programming paradigms that you came across in OS kernel!!

Thanks in advance

Post subject: Re: NIce Programming paradigms in OS Kernel [SOFT QUESTION]
PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:54 am 

A non-exhaustive list of some things that come to mind:
  • For asynchronous interfaces: Allocate memory early. If a syscall performs an asynchronous operation, you don't want it to asynchronously fail with OOM. Either fail right away with OOM or complete asynchronously with success (or I/O failure). In other words, perform allocation in syscalls but not in I/O routines.
  • Intrusive data structures. This is often a trade off of performance in favor of robustness. If your user-space program fails to allocate a vector, you just buy more memory. In the kernel, you cannot just crash the system, so you better make sure you do not need additional memory in critical kernel paths.