OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:32 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 10:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
Hi,
I implemented an floppy driver and keybrd driver. When i don't install both driver os work but while i initialize and install them it doesn't work. In keybrd the interrupt is 33 and in floppy interrupt 38 and irq 6.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 12:00 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:45 am
Posts: 9301
Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Fourth revision of the same question and now it's not the screen, but the keyboard that's involved. Why? Do you even know yourself?

Is this relevant, and if that doesn't work, can you at formulate, test, and post the smallest amount of code after which you would expect an interrupt from the floppy drive?

_________________
"Certainly avoid yourself. He is a newbie and might not realize it. You'll hate his code deeply a few years down the road." - Sortie
[ My OS ] [ VDisk/SFS ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2016 7:18 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 901
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
I think it's a waste of time to even bother with a floppy driver in 2016.
ATA and AHCI are not that difficult if you know what you're doing.
P.S: This should be in OS Development, not OS Design & Theory.

_________________
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 5:20 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 1146
Technoguy wrote:
Hi,
I implemented an floppy driver and keybrd driver. When i don't install both driver os work but while i initialize and install them it doesn't work. In keybrd the interrupt is 33 and in floppy interrupt 38 and irq 6.
  • In what way does the OS work when you don't install the drivers?
  • In what way does the OS not work when you do install the drivers?
Also
  • We don't care what interrupts/IRQs you're using if you don't give us any code
  • "Keybrd" is not a word, it's spelt "keyboard"

_________________
When you start writing an OS you do the minimum possible to get the x86 processor in a usable state, then you try to get as far away from it as possible.

Syntax checkup:
Wrong: OS's, IRQ's, zero'ing
Right: OSes, IRQs, zeroing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
Okay, i am really sorry brothers. I am a student learning in high school in class 8 but i like os development. I will never do this mistake.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
Combuster wrote:
Fourth revision of the same question and now it's not the screen, but the keyboard that's involved. Why? Do you even know yourself?

Is this relevant, and if that doesn't work, can you at formulate, test, and post the smallest amount of code after which you would expect an interrupt from the floppy drive?

. void floppy_install(38);


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:42 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 901
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Technoguy wrote:
. void floppy_install(38);

It doesn't even make sense because (assuming this was copied/pasted from your OS) that line is just a function prototype.

_________________
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
omarrx024 wrote:
I think it's a waste of time to even bother with a floppy driver in 2016.
ATA and AHCI are not that difficult if you know what you're doing.
P.S: This should be in OS Development, not OS Design & Theory.

. What your os is i think your os is the only one which is the ghost of computer. You know even windows support floppy. The baddest and the black side os is your one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
omarrx024 wrote:
I think it's a waste of time to even bother with a floppy driver in 2016.
ATA and AHCI are not that difficult if you know what you're doing.
P.S: This should be in OS Development, not OS Design & Theory.

. What your os is i think your os is the only one which is the ghost of computer. You know even windows support floppy. The baddest and the black side os is your one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 1:46 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 901
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
Technoguy wrote:
. What your os is i think your os is the only one which is the ghost of computer. You know even windows support floppy. The baddest and the black side os is your one.

What the heck is that supposed to even mean?

_________________
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 2:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:01 am
Posts: 11
omarrx024 wrote:
Technoguy wrote:
. What your os is i think your os is the only one which is the ghost of computer. You know even windows support floppy. The baddest and the black side os is your one.

What the heck is that supposed to even mean?

. Sorry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 2:13 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:59 pm
Posts: 1146
omarrx024 wrote:
Technoguy wrote:
. What your os is i think your os is the only one which is the ghost of computer. You know even windows support floppy. The baddest and the black side os is your one.

What the heck is that supposed to even mean?
I think what he's trying to say is that your OS is really bad, even worse than Windows, because it doesn't support floppy disks. He's saying that your OS is worse than Windows because Windows supports floppy disks while yours doesn't. He's describing your OS as a ghost and as black as attempted metaphors for "very bad".

_________________
When you start writing an OS you do the minimum possible to get the x86 processor in a usable state, then you try to get as far away from it as possible.

Syntax checkup:
Wrong: OS's, IRQ's, zero'ing
Right: OSes, IRQs, zeroing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:04 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:57 am
Posts: 568
Location: Moscow, Russia
I guess, he meant, that your OS is on the dark side of the Force.

_________________
"If you don't fail at least 90 percent of the time, you're not aiming high enough."
- Alan Kay


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:20 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 11:17 am
Posts: 1225
omarrx024 wrote:
I think it's a waste of time to even bother with a floppy driver in 2016.
ATA and AHCI are not that difficult if you know what you're doing.
P.S: This should be in OS Development, not OS Design & Theory.

If ATA/SATA/AHCI/USB are not difficult, then a floppy driver is easier too, so why not implement it?

The fact is that floppies are still capable to make things easier, and are actually vital if you use old ISA machines trying to make sure that you're dealing only with code that runs natively in the best minimum or maximum i386 (386DX/387) as the absolute minimum platform for your base system and toolchain when compiled/built.

_________________
Live PC 1: Image Live PC 2: Image

YouTube:
http://youtube.com/@AltComp126/streams
http://youtube.com/@proyectos/streams

http://master.dl.sourceforge.net/projec ... 7z?viasf=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Interrupt doesn't work
PostPosted: Tue Jul 26, 2016 12:53 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:11 am
Posts: 901
Location: Maadi, Cairo, Egypt
~ wrote:
If ATA/SATA/AHCI/USB are not difficult, then a floppy driver is easier too, so why not implement it?

The fact is that floppies are still capable to make things easier, and are actually vital if you use old ISA machines trying to make sure that you're dealing only with code that runs natively in the best minimum or maximum i386 (386DX/387) as the absolute minimum platform for your base system and toolchain when compiled/built.

Because floppies are old technology. Few people (if any) still use them today. I think we should try to keep up with modern hardware, not backwards-compatibility with old hardware.
And I didn't say USB is easy; I know it's difficult, but unlike floppy drives, coding a USB driver will be worth the effort.

_________________
You know your OS is advanced when you stop using the Intel programming guide as a reference.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group