OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 5:13 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Kernel Design - Every thing a database.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:49 pm 

I'm looking for constructive criticism...

I'm a database programmer (almost from the start) so most of my code is structs and I have adopted a lot of knowledge from my PHP & MySQL days.

The way I see it is:
The file system is a database of where files are located on the disk.
The GDT is a database of operating modes and segments
The IDT is a database of Int Handlers
The HAL is a database of drivers
The VFS is a database of File Systems (and partitions in my case)
The Video Driver is a database of pixels (though this is not a struct in my case)
Even the disk is a database of sectors (though again not a struct)
The PMM is a database of available RAM
The VMM is a database of pages
The HMM is a database of page segments

The unmade parts:
The Thread Manager is a database of threads
The Message System is a database of messages (really adopted from my php days - the same way I did private messaging in all my online apps, Src, Dest, Msg)
The Keyboard itself is a database of keys, but the driver is a database of key-presses / key-releases (in FIFO style though it will be offset-able)
The Mouse driver is a database of mouse actions (movements, clicks, scrolls, etc.)

(I think you get the point...)

So, I'm curious if anyone can give me a situation where the computer is not just a bunch of databases; if so I may have to redesign my backend.

Yes, I do like databases - I understand them so well...

Sortie wrote:
  • Don't play the role of an operating systems developer, be one.
  • Be truly afraid of undefined [behavior].
  • Your operating system should be itself, not fight what it is.

Post subject: Re: Kernel Design - Every thing a database.
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:55 pm