OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:30 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Feedback request: planning on using non-standard ABI
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 2:50 am 

Hi.

I'm a long time software developer, starting my first OS project for fun and research.

I'm still on the planning phase and would like to have feedback on the following:

1) I plan to use a non-standard calling convention (arguments, local variables not in call stack). This is to avoid buffer overflows from corrupting return values. Is it going to be super difficult making gcc to support my own calling convention? I have some compiler development experience but I'm not familiar with gcc internals (yet).

2) I plan to limit the maximum frame size to one page (4k), maybe allowing larger frames for leaf calls. I'd do this so that I can prepare call frame memory with every other page not present, to avoid buffer overflows corrupting other frames. Do you think that I'm going to face huge porting issues with existing software (I'd like to compile at least gcc and related build tools)? If this is a major no-no, I could allocate larger frames from heap behind the scenes..

Thanks for any comments.

Post subject: Re: Feedback request: planning on using non-standard ABI
PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2015 4:48 am 

Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
I don't know a thing about GCC internals, but if you can devise for yourself a standard prologue and epilogue you can work it out. In fact, it might be wise to actually generate a fully separate stack for data. That means you can call/ret on the original stack using *SP, and have a separate stack where you can use *BP for, and interleave present and non-present pages on that new stack. In other words, you might end up with something like
Code:
SUB EBP, 8192
(...)
CALL my_new_abi_function
(...)
ADD EBP, 8192
RET