OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:26 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Kernel size considerations when initializing paging
PostPosted: Fri Mar 13, 2015 12:14 pm 

I've finally started getting my head wrapped around how paging works, converted my system to operate as a higher half kernel, and now I'm moving into the memory management portion of things. One item that has me rather concerned is the size of my kernel, and the initial page table that gets set up. I'm still learning, so I'm designing a 32-bit non-PAE system just to get my head wrapped around things. When I initialize paging I create a page directory with one entry, and one page table with the minimal number of entries needed to map the kernel. This is working alright for now, but I'm starting to get concerned about the size of my kernel. Once my kernel becomes larger than 4MB in size a single page table will no longer be sufficient to map the whole thing when the system boots. As things currently stand the kernel starts at virtual address 0xC0101026, and ends at virtual address 0xC012DDD0. When I set up my page directory I'm mapping everything from physical address 0x0 - 0x12DDD0 to the virtual address range 0xC0000000 - 0xC012DDD0. This is to make sure I map everything in low memory (what I'm thinking of as "GRUB space"), the kernel, the page directory, and a page table. In order to simplify things while setting up my bitmap for frame allocation I simply declared an array using C, and it has a data type of u8int with 131072 elements. Doing so ended up making my kernel a full megabyte larger, but I figured that such a direct approach was simpler than trying to map an additional 32 page tables for the bitmap. As it stands, my whole system (in memory) is currently around 1.18 MB so I'm using a little more than a quarter of the virtual address space on the page table, but the overwhelming majority of that space is for the bitmap. I'm