OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:15 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Debugging UEFI Issues on real hardware (POSIX-UEFI)
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 2:23 am 

Hi All,

Yesterday I started playing with UEFI and wanted to try out en efi app. I downloaded POSIX-UEFI and went to test out the hello world program. Under qemu it worked without any issues, however, I could not get it to run on real hardware.

These are the steps that I am running:

I generate helloworld.efi program, as indicated in the wiki article, I also downloaded a version of the UEFI Shell so I can boot to it.

Then I created a FAT16 filesystem which includes the UEFI Shell and the EFI app, following the instructions in the UEFI wiki article, the only difference here is that I created the EFI/BOOT folders with mmd, and put the UEFI Shell as
Code:
EFI\BOOT\BOOTX64.EFI
. I then burned the image using dd if=path/to/img of=/dev/sda, synced and rebooted the computer.

Upon reboot, I am able to boot into the UEFI Shell if I choose the flash drive. I can also see the helloworld.efi app with ls, but when I try to execute it, the computer just hangs. I don't know how to further debug this. The next thing I am going to try is to use GNU-UEFI or TianoCore directly to see if it's a problem related to POSIX-UEFI.

Any ideas?

Post subject: Re: Debugging UEFI Issues on real hardware (POSIX-UEFI)
PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 9:59 am 

Try filing a bug report on bzt's gitlab.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 11:55 am 

nexos wrote:
Try filing a bug report on bzt's gitlab.

Thanks for the suggestion, nexos. I created an issue in their gitlab. Today I will try to get GNU-EFI or TianoCore to run and see if the issue is only with POSIX-UEFI.

However, in general, could I debug this issue? sadly everything works perfectly on QEMU with OMVF

PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2021 1:47 pm