OSDev.org
https://forum.osdev.org/

Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD
https://forum.osdev.org/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=37248
Page 1 of 1

Author:  PeterX [ Mon Sep 21, 2020 7:24 am ]
Post subject:  Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

I have a Qemu problem. I already searched the man page.

I have a HD image file (called ReactOS.img) and want a directory (called ros-hd) to be used as second HD.
I envoke:
Code:
qemu-system-x86_64 -L . -m 1024 -hda ReactOS.img -hdb ros-hd

But it expects a file for "-hdb", not a directory.

Any help?

Greetings and thanks in advance
Peter

Author:  iansjack [ Mon Sep 21, 2020 7:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

Any reason why it has to be a directory and not another image file?

Author:  PeterX [ Mon Sep 21, 2020 7:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

iansjack wrote:
Any reason why it has to be a directory and not another image file?

I want to try to run Windows programs I download (which don't work with Wine). For example games.
I could create an image file every time I download a program but I would like to avoid that.

Greetings
Peter

Author:  iansjack [ Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:42 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

If you only need read access you can use a virtual FAT filesystem: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/QEMU/Devices/Storage

Author:  zaval [ Mon Sep 21, 2020 4:37 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

create a small .vhd file and use it as a second hard drive. but if you want to use ReactOS for running "some games", I think, you are gonna get a lot of adventures. :mrgreen:

Author:  nexos [ Tue Sep 22, 2020 3:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

zaval wrote:
but if you want to use ReactOS for running "some games", I think, you are gonna get a lot of adventures.

Someone's got to test them. PeterX just wants to see what it'll be like.

Author:  linuxyne [ Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:57 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

If it is the contents of the directory that's actually important, try 9pfs. But, guest (ReactOS here, I suppose) needs to support the particular devices that are involved.

[1]https://www.linux-kvm.org/page/9p_virtio

Author:  FranchuFranchu [ Fri Oct 23, 2020 10:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

This StackExchange link might be useful for you

Author:  bloodline [ Fri Oct 23, 2020 11:05 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Qemu: Want to mount a directory as HD

iansjack wrote:
If you only need read access you can use a virtual FAT filesystem: https://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/QEMU/Devices/Storage


I've been looking for something like this, many thanks for posting!!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/