OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:28 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Hello everybody!
PostPosted: Wed Aug 25, 2021 1:00 pm 

Hi all, Jason here. I've been silently stalking the osdev community for a while now and thought I'd finally take the step and say hello! I'm a software engineering student and I picked up Osdeving recently as a hobby. I know it sounds like I'm going to be yet another noob throwing every little question at the you guys and expecting solutions to be handed to me, but that would upset me just as much as y'all. The best part about this is being able to do everything yourself from the ground up, and doing intense problem solving, and I wouldn't want to spoil all of that fun by posting things like "Waaa the IDT code I copied word for word from the wiki isn't working help!" haha

I'm not an expert at all however, and I would like to avoid making it sound like I know what I'm doing (I really don't) so I will take any advice given to me gratefully and read all of the relevant documentation and wiki articles before posing a question.

About my "OS": I'm not too far along. I only (re)started about a week ago, so I basically only have the bare minimum to have something to show off at parties. It's x86_64 based, and I'm rolling my own bootloader that gets me set up into long mode and passes control to a kernel I'm building in C and NASM assembly. I have libraries to write stuff to the VGA hardware in bytes or strings, I'm working on expanding my IDT to do more than print out the number of the interrupt, and that's really about it actually oops.