OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:27 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: would someone help me
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:58 am 

would someone help me , i like computer so much and i dream to make my own os but unfortunately i have ADHD i tried learning programming for 6 years but returned with no practical ability cause of perplexity , i want someone to reference me sources assuming i have zero knowledge , strating from scratch building my own os , and i will be thankful :)

Post subject: Re: would someone help me
PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 8:46 pm 

You mean start of learning programming or start of learning OS/system dev?

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 11:05 pm 

OS development is one of the king disciplines of programming. The others being compiler development and 3D game development. It is ill-advised to try to build an OS as the very first thing. I would suggest you get familiar with C in userspace first, writing simple applications. Then slowly turn up the difficulty until you feel you are ready to work without a net.

When learning to dive, you wouldn't go to Mariana's Trench as the very first thing, would you? OS development is complicated, and as a beginner you will be quickly overwhelmed trying to keep all the things in your head. ADHD will not aid in this.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2020 2:04 pm 

Hello Hello, Let's start with the most important fundamentals to getting started...

How familiar are you With C programming?

I see you said you have 6 years experience, what languages have you used?

If you are very familiar with C programming, how about Assembly eg NASM? This is your hammer and screw driver to build an OS from scratch project :D

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:55 am 

Seahorse wrote:
You mean start of learning programming or start of learning OS/system dev?

i mean to start programming from scratch till building my os

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:01 am