OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Job advice
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 4:30 am 

Hi all,

I just finished my bachelors (did a university degree in computer science and mathematics), probably summa cum laude and cum laude (not yet verified) respectively. I have a lot more coding experience than this would suggest though; I've worked before going to uni (actually between going twice), and I've coded for a long time for fun. Now I finished I'm about to start looking for work, but I could use some advice on good work without being bored to death.
Let me elaborate. I reckon I'm a very good coder. Not the real top of the top, I'm sure, but I've hired developers who were referred to as senior developers, and I'm quite sure I was still a better coder than them. I have a good insight for logic, I am great at locating bugs, I have a passion for good code, and I have mathematical foundations most developers lack.
Now I know this seems a strange place to ask for help for such a thing, but I think most coders here are way above average. I don't think you can pick up OSdev as a hobby without having a lot of passion and experience (without just copying and pasting code, of course).

Most jobs, I think, would bore me to death. While I think a high salary would be good, I find challenge a lot more important. However, I think that most development jobs quickly become routine, and start become tedious and boring. I want to remain a developer, but I want to be able to grow and keep to work on challenges.
So my question is: do you guys have any suggestions on kinds of jobs that allows me to grow and keep working on challenges?

This is not a "please give me a job"-post, so I doubt details really matter. Just in case someone has a suggestion for an actual company, some details: I live in the Netherlands, love C++ and low-level development, optimization and looking for bugs.