OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:44 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: What's your occupation?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:50 pm 

Just curious about the profile of forum users. :wink:

What's your occupation and/or education?

I'm an B.Sc. in Computer Science, working as System Architect and Researcher (speech synthesis).

Last edited by brunexgeek on Sat Nov 22, 2014 10:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: What's your occupation?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:06 am 

I am student in 10th grade.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:30 am 

For a while I built tents and another job cleaned toilets.

OS project: venom OS
Hexadecimal Editor: hexed

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 1:54 am 

My occupation is that of serial entrepreneur. Currently I work on the internals of a graph database engine in my startup, mostly programming in C++11 but also some OCaml and Common Lisp.

My educational background is that of an autodidact. Dropped out of elementary school to work as a programmer, later dropped in on interesting bits of high school and university. Taught myself computer science from MIT's materials. Currently finishing up a physics degree at the Open University and starting on another bachelor's in history (classical antiquity).

I began OS development at the wee age of 13, with Richard Burgess's classic book "Developing Your Own 32-Bit Operating System". Thus began a long journey that I can't say has reached any particular conclusion, but has certainly been rewarding and educational nonetheless.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 2:03 am 

Software engineer. I have been doing mostly embedded/system/low-level stuff in C/C++ and asm in the past 15+ years.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 2:16 am 

M. Sc. in Energy Technology working on technical drawings, 3D modeling, etc.

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2014 3:53 am