OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:41 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: VESA: requesting framebuffer with GRUB
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2023 11:19 am 

Hi everyone, I am a newbie with os dev programming. I was wondering a question about VESA mode. So let's say I have developed my own osdev experiment that has: gdt, and idt implemented, physical memory management, paging enabled, interrupts working and keyboard working. I'd like to move on, playing with a GRUB framebuffer address.

I read the wiki page about drawing in protected mode, and at the moment I """"""""implemented""""""""""" a really stupid way to get the VESA framebuffer address. In the file that manages the starting of the system (boot.S), I managed to request a framebuffer via multiboot structure (I do not know how, but GRUB understands if I ask mode 1024x768, 32bit depth).

I actually get a pointer (address: 0) and I can write on it and display some pixels. However as soon as I enable physical memory manager (or probably gdt), the framebuffer address is useless. I guess the space allocated for the screen by GRUB is totally overwritten by physical memory manager..

What would your procedure be to request a framebuffer from GRUB and then actually use it, considering I have enabled physical memory managment?

Code:
.set MAGIC, 0x1badb002
.set FLAGS, 7
.set CHECKSUM, -(MAGIC + FLAGS)
.set MODE_TYPE, 0
.set WIDTH, 1024  /* requested width */
.set HEIGHT, 768  /* requested height */
.set DEPTH, 32    /* requested bits per pixel BPP */

.set HEADER_ADDR, 0
.set LOAD_ADDR, 0
.set LOAD_END_ADDR, 0
.set BSS_END_ADDR, 0
.set ENTRY_ADDR, 0

and on the kernel:
Code:
int kernel_main(struct multiboot *m){
// m-->framebuffer_address;
}

Post subject: Re: VESA: requesting framebuffer with GRUB
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2023 11:48 am 

sernico wrote:
I actually get a pointer (address: 0) and I can write on it and display some pixels.