OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:55 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Question about virtual memory mapping
PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2022 9:06 pm 

Hello, I'm quite new to OS development and I hope this isn't a dumb question.

I am writing my virtual memory manager with PAE paging. Right now whenever a page is mapped that does not have an existing page table for it, it will create all the necessary structures (pdpt, pdt, pt) etc. on pages that are provided by the page frame allocator. However, the issue is that these pages (that the structures will be written to) have to be mapped into virtual memory in order to be written to, which obviously creates an issue as this is all happening withing the mapping function.

Am I going about this in a terrible way or? I have looked around a lot and I can't seem to find anyone running into the same issue so I might be doing something completely wrong.

Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Question about virtual memory mapping
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2022 8:59 pm 

So, basically the problem is how to access memory you only have a physical address of, at least during page frame creation. There are three common approaches:

1. Recursive mapping