OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:48 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Use of "-m32 -march=i686" to replace the standard toolchain
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 6:31 pm 

I'm just starting out with OS development with C++, and have not found anything in the OsDev book about why it is necessary to use the toolchain rather than simply add "-m32 -march=i686" to a normal g++ compile command. Does this work? If not, is there a reason why I shouldn't do it?

Post subject: Re: Use of "-m32 -march=i686" to replace the standard toolch
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:26 pm 

This has been heavily discussed in another forum topic, and somewhat in the wiki, but to recap: the reason that this doesn't work is that your compiler on Linux/Cygwin/Mac OS/BSD/... will build your code for the host system. This means it will pull in libgcc -- but not the libgcc you want, but rather the libgcc that your host OS provides. It will also generate code that just won't work in real mode or other execution environments where hardware extensions are not enabled, such as code that uses SSE, AVX, neon, etc., or in environments where extensions are nonexistent outright, such as generating RISC-V atomic instructions to be run in an environment that does not support those instructions.
To a point, generation of these extensions can be toggled, but it requires a great deal of technical knowledge of how the compiler works and your bound to still generate code that still isn't going to work. This is because some processor architectures, such as x86, initially start in a highly restricted environment to emulate old architectural environments, like real mode. Your host OS might be 32, 64, or 128-bit, and such code would not run in real mode, for example.