OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:54 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Implementing graphics drivers..
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 4:35 pm 

I'm wondering about any nvidia documentation, I'm a great reverse engineer but it's obviously a waste of time. So I'm wondering if you need to develop your OS to a certain point, and then ask them to make a driver/give you documentation under certain conditions as i heard claims about that and people claiming to have the documentation

If not, do I just have to develop my OS enough and ask them?

Post subject: Re: Implementing graphics drivers..
PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 4:38 pm 

newosdeveloper2021 wrote:
I'm wondering about any nvidia documentation, I'm a great reverse engineer but it's obviously a waste of time. So I'm wondering if you need to develop your OS to a certain point, and then ask them to make a driver/give you documentation under certain conditions as i heard claims about that and people claiming to have the documentation

If not, do I just have to develop my OS enough and ask them?

I would think you'd need a considerable market share and wealth for it to even be considered.

Must it be NVidia? Intel may have horrible GPU documentation (although the i815 docs seem alright), but at least they're freely accessible.

PostPosted: Sun May 30, 2021 4:47 pm