OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:41 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: [Solved] Passing network traffic from macOS to QEMU
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 10:07 am 

Hello!

Apologies for any errors in terminology or missing relevant info, as I'm quite new to networking in general.

I'm writing an RTL8139 driver in my OS, and am having a truly hard time getting the TAP device working correctly on macOS on WiFi with QEMU v5.2.0. In brief: I can transmit packets and they are visible on the "tap0" interface, but do not receive any packets.

I've set up a bridge with my main network interface, en0, and the TAP device, tap0. "bridge0" is used for Thunderbolt connectivity, so I've created "bridge2" for my purposes:

QEMU config:
Code:
-nic tap,model=rtl8139,script=./qemu-ifup.sh,downscript=./qemu-ifdown.sh,id=u1 -object filter-dump,id=f1,netdev=u1,file=dump.dat

qemu-ifup.sh:
Code:
#!/bin/bash
# https://gist.github.com/EmbeddedAndroid/6572715
# https://gist.github.com/artembeloglazov/db8c16efc91443955fca
sysctl -w net.link.ether.inet.proxyall=1
sysctl -w net.inet.ip.forwarding=1
sysctl -w net.inet.ip.fw.enable=1
sysctl -w net.ipv4.ip_forward=1
sysctl -w net.link.tap.user_open=1
sysctl -w net.link.tap.up__on__open=1
ifconfig bridge2 create
ifconfig bridge2 inet 192.168.13.1/24
ifconfig bridge2 addm en0 addm $1
ifconfig bridge2 up
ifconfig en0 up
ifconfig $1 up

I am in fact able to transmit packets within my OS, and these packets are visible in Wireshark when snooping the tap0 interface (though the packet only contains 0x41 repeated at the moment!). The issue is that QEMU is not receiving any packets, even though a wide breadth of network traffic appears in Wireshark or tcpdump. I have recompiled QEMU with the debug flag for this driver enabled, and I don't get any extra output except while initializing the driver or when I transmit a packet.