OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:57 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:43 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:01 pm
Posts: 182
Hey everyone, sorry if this is a stupid question, i'm very much a beginner in osdev.

I know that a lot of physical address space is reserved for memory mapped devices, sometimes even gigabytes.
Does that mean that if I put in like 4 gigabytes of ram like half of it gets reserved?
Or does the bios somehow remap the memory so that I can access everything?
If so, does it actually map above 4 gigabytes? How does one even access that memory in 32 bit mode?
Or does some part of the RAM become unreachable? Also, can I manually remap it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:52 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:46 am
Posts: 590
8infy wrote:
Or does the bios somehow remap the memory so that I can access everything?

No!

8infy wrote:
Does that mean that if I put in like 4 gigabytes of ram like half of it gets reserved?

Yes, sort of. Don't know how much exactly.

8infy wrote:
If so, does it actually map above 4 gigabytes? How does one even access that memory in 32 bit mode?

No way. 32bit mode can't access more than 4GB.

8infy wrote:
Or does some part of the RAM become unreachable? Also, can I manually remap it?

Unreachable: Yes, see answer above. Remap: No.

Greetings
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 1:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2020 1:01 pm
Posts: 182
PeterX wrote:
8infy wrote:
Or does the bios somehow remap the memory so that I can access everything?

No!

8infy wrote:
Does that mean that if I put in like 4 gigabytes of ram like half of it gets reserved?

Yes, sort of. Don't know how much exactly.

8infy wrote:
If so, does it actually map above 4 gigabytes? How does one even access that memory in 32 bit mode?

No way. 32bit mode can't access more than 4GB.

8infy wrote:
Or does some part of the RAM become unreachable? Also, can I manually remap it?

Unreachable: Yes, see answer above. Remap: No.

Greetings
Peter



But on my computer I have 32 gigabytes of memory and a ton of modern hardware and windows says that 31.9 is available, that doesn't seem right? So whats going on here? Or does it include the reserved memory as well?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 2:06 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:46 am
Posts: 590
8infy wrote:
But on my computer I have 32 gigabytes of memory and a ton of modern hardware and windows says that 31.9 is available, that doesn't seem right? So whats going on here? Or does it include the reserved memory as well?

No it doesn't show reserved memory.
The footprint on reserved memory can be very small, I don't know why it differs on different machines.

Greetings
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:37 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm
Posts: 5100
8infy wrote:
Does that mean that if I put in like 4 gigabytes of ram like half of it gets reserved?

Usually no, but it depends on the chipset.

8infy wrote:
Or does the bios somehow remap the memory so that I can access everything?

Usually yes, but it depends on the chipset.

8infy wrote:
If so, does it actually map above 4 gigabytes?

When the chipset is capable of remapping memory, yes.

8infy wrote:
How does one even access that memory in 32 bit mode?

PAE.

8infy wrote:
Or does some part of the RAM become unreachable?

Usually no, but it depends on the chipset.

8infy wrote:
Also, can I manually remap it?

You should let the firmware handle it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reserved memory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2020 12:58 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:46 am
Posts: 590
Uh, then I was wrong. Thanks for correcting me.

I kind of can't believe BIOS really remaps memory above 4GB!?

Greetings
Peter


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 56 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group