VBE 81ffh in assembly

Question about which tools to use, bugs, the best way to implement a function, etc should go here. Don't forget to see if your question is answered in the wiki first! When in doubt post here.
Post Reply
CheeseBees
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:13 pm
Libera.chat IRC: WhatIsThis

VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by CheeseBees »

Can it be used in assembly(im using nasm), and if so how?(in terms of values to set for it)

--EDIT--
can it be used to write to the memory
- Mitchell Barnes the Confused Idiot
17 years old and programming assembly

“If you're going to tell me to give up then you're wasting time that you could be using to help someone else”

“Assembly is more readable and easy to use than c. Change my mind”
Octocontrabass
Member
Member
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm

Re: VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by Octocontrabass »

When you say "VBE 81ffh", are you referring to VBE mode 0x81FF?

Why do you want to use it?

What mode is the CPU in when you're trying to use it?
CheeseBees
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:13 pm
Libera.chat IRC: WhatIsThis

Re: VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by CheeseBees »

Octocontrabass wrote:When you say "VBE 81ffh", are you referring to VBE mode 0x81FF?

Why do you want to use it?

What mode is the CPU in when you're trying to use it?
1. Yes i am
2. To get full access to my video ram as the mode description says its for
3. Real mode
- Mitchell Barnes the Confused Idiot
17 years old and programming assembly

“If you're going to tell me to give up then you're wasting time that you could be using to help someone else”

“Assembly is more readable and easy to use than c. Change my mind”
Octocontrabass
Member
Member
Posts: 5494
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:01 pm

Re: VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by Octocontrabass »

CheeseBees wrote:2. To get full access to my video ram as the mode description says its for
Why do you want to do that?
CheeseBees wrote:3. Real mode
You can use this function to get information about the VBE capabilities, this function to get information about the mode you want to use, and this function to set the mode. If VBE 2.0 is supported, you'll probably want to set bit 14 in the mode number (0xC1FF instead of 0x81FF) to use a linear buffer.

I suggest also looking at the VBE specification for the definitions of those functions, since it explains the requirements for calling each, and what the return values mean.

If you're writing a quick proof of concept, you can skip the check for VBE 2.0 since all recent VBE implementations support it.
CheeseBees
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2018 12:13 pm
Libera.chat IRC: WhatIsThis

Re: VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by CheeseBees »

Octocontrabass wrote:
CheeseBees wrote:2. To get full access to my video ram as the mode description says its for
Why do you want to do that?
CheeseBees wrote:3. Real mode
You can use this function to get information about the VBE capabilities, this function to get information about the mode you want to use, and this function to set the mode. If VBE 2.0 is supported, you'll probably want to set bit 14 in the mode number (0xC1FF instead of 0x81FF) to use a linear buffer.

I suggest also looking at the VBE specification for the definitions of those functions, since it explains the requirements for calling each, and what the return values mean.

If you're writing a quick proof of concept, you can skip the check for VBE 2.0 since all recent VBE implementations support it.
Thank you so much that just ended 2 years of searching.
- Mitchell Barnes the Confused Idiot
17 years old and programming assembly

“If you're going to tell me to give up then you're wasting time that you could be using to help someone else”

“Assembly is more readable and easy to use than c. Change my mind”
bigboyav
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:09 am

Re: VBE 81ffh in assembly

Post by bigboyav »

Check out the below link, very detailed on how to use VESA Bios Extensions (VBE).

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=30186
Post Reply