OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:31 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Higher Half Kernel not working with Meaty Skeleton
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:26 am 

Hello, I am new to osdev and am running into a problem that I do not understand.

When I use the code from this article: https://wiki.osdev.org/User:Glauxosdeve ... Bare_Bones

I copy it as the kernel., boot.S, and yes, I also change the video memory address to the correct address as defined in the Glauxosdever code.

However, when I try to run ./qemu script, the kernel seems to start up. I see the grub menu and select “myos”. However, it appears to load for around one second and then goes back to the GRUB boot menu.

Are there any known compatibility issues with Higher Half and meaty skeleton?

I can run both higher half and meaty skeleton individually just find.

Post subject: Re: Higher Half Kernel not working with Meaty Skeleton
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:41 am 

You're going to need to provide more information for people to help.

Bowlslaw wrote:
However, when I try to run ./qemu script, the kernel seems to start up. I see the grub menu and select “myos”. However, it appears to load for around one second and then goes back to the GRUB boot menu.

This sounds like a triple fault. You should modify your qemu script and add the following args: -s -no-reboot -no-shutdown. Then you can connect with gdb with "target remote localhost:1234". Add a breakpoint to _start, and start single stepping until something breaks.

"...not because [it is] easy, but because [it is] hard; because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of [my] energies and skills..."

PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 9:49 am 

pat wrote:
You're going to need to provide more information for people to help.

Bowlslaw wrote: