OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:53 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Paging Problem on some HW: triple fault on enabling
PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:22 am 

Hi everyone, I'm an Italian student (so excuse me if my english is poor). I'm rewriting my very basic OS, but trying to improve it so much, and I decided to implement x86_64 for the first time.
As currently I'm working on the bootloader, and writing it in assembler, my environment consists consists in NASM, bochs, other universal tools like an hex-editor, running in LinuxMint 18.3 'Sylvia' on a HP P6 Pavilion (2011) laptop machine. Everything was working very well, I was able to enter long mode, and I identity mapped the first 16Gb of RAM (to grant me access to the whole memory, waiting to encode a proper memory manager) using PSE. I then kept programming and started setting up the environment of my os, like IRQ handlers, exception handlers, my system call, basic I/O environment, when I decided to test it on real hardware (the same laptop i'm working on), via USB seen as an hard disk booting. It triple faulted. I tried on a different laptop of the same series, but the result was the same. So I tried on different PCs but all was fine.
I began trying to sort out which instruction was causing trouble, and I found that was the MOV CR0,EAX that enables paging. So i started debugging my paging system, and rewrote it as a very simple identity allocation of the first 2Mb, no PSE, as seen in tutorials, but the problem persists. I tried to do a lot of little changes like even flipping the page general enable bit, but I can't find out the problem. Also I cannot get and handle the exception, as my handlers seems to get never called (to be sure of this i put hangs in the exception handlers) and the cpu resets immediatly, as it would if i set a not page-aligned CR3.