OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:01 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Polling for VSYNC doesn't work (0x3DA port)
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 6:58 am 

Hello. I'm very new to the low level coding of the PC and I really love this forum and the wiki you guys made ! Anyway, let's go to the problem...
I wanted to sync all my code to the VSYNC (I'm not making an OS, but an OS-less game). At first I wanted to do it with an interrupt, but I've read, that most graphics card don't actually support it and I should be polling the 0x3DA port like this :

Code:
.globl VSYNC_WAIT
.type VSYNC_WAIT, @function

VSYNC_WAIT:
   push eax
   push edx
   mov dx, 0x3DA
.l1:
   in al, dx
   test al, 8
   jnz l1
.l2:
   in al, dx
   test al, 8
   jz l2

pop edx
   pop eax
   ret

I've found this exact code (Either in asm or C) on various websites, so I was sure that is the right way to do it, but it doesn't seem to work. My code is still executed way too fast. Just for your information, I am in Protected Mode and I have interrupt enabled and my own handlers. All handlers are generic except for the keyboard and PIT timer.

PS. I print al to the screen after first in and after second in. The first time it's always 0, after the other it's always 9 (4th bit set, isn't that weird ?)

Post subject: Re: Polling for VSYNC doesn't work (0x3DA port)
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 7:15 am 

6502Rulez wrote:
My code is still executed way too fast.

Are you using a virtual machine? Those tend to be inaccurate when it comes to timing.

6502Rulez wrote:
The first time it's always 0, after the other it's always 9 (4th bit set, isn't that weird ?)

According to VGADOC, that is the expected behavior.

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 7:18 am 

first of all, the timing of your game should not rely on vsync.

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 7:31 am 

Octocontrabass wrote:
6502Rulez wrote:
My code is still executed way too fast.