OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:09 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:37 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/clic ... z?download

Hello everyone. Thanks to Candy, SANiK, OSLib guys and (of course) whyme_t, i'm glad to announce release 0.9.2 of Clicker. It now features the microkernel, drivers modules *and* the Video Server. You can, among other things, launch it and draw whatever you want with your mouse (it seemed more amusing than just moving a cursor along ;).

I'm also interrested by reports of video card that has *no* "l-800x600x24-col" modes and what are the closest modes (i know nvidia cards have only b-x16 and b-x32, for instance, **edit** so you're better to use the 'nvidia' image in post below **/edit**)

And finally, i tried to fix problems about non-detection of disks, so if you have a test machine with a couple of ATA disks, i'd be glad to hear of reports for the "readmbr" test on the "testio" module.

Quote:
Notes: This release includes "scribbling test" for those who have a video card supporting 800x600x24. To have it working, you need to start module "ioman" or "testio" (SHIFT+F4, CTRL+F5 to access module manager) and then module "scalltst". Note that testio module may (unfortunately) take some time to initialize on emulators.
The scalltst will automatically launch the "video server" which will in turn ask for ps2mouse and VBE video support. If you have both, you should have all video modes listed in kds under "system.device.pci.vga0.config.modes.*" (access KDS namespace with SHIFT+F4, CTRL+F2)
If you see something like l800x600x24-col, this means you can safely go on with the test. A right click on the mouse will enable graphic mode. You can then move the mouse to create nice (useless) draws. When bored, hit "printscreen/SysRq" key to reboot. small squares in top-left corner reflect mouse messages as received by the video server.

Changes:
- integrated candy's simple font system
- provided access to KDS services from userland (if message are flat)
- VESA modes enumeration and setup
- integrated SANiK & whyme mouse code
- allow custom informations storage under <pcidevice>.config.*
- fixed (hopefully) disk detection routines.

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 10:43 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
moreover (and this is seldom enough to be noticed), sources are released simultaneously :)

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/clic ... z?download

pfew.

i can now focus on release pype y0.26 with a more quiet mind ...

enjoy.

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:12 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:59 am
Posts: 1600
Location: Vienna/Austria
Works. Funny change of the mouse pointer color.

You by any chance have the video server spawn off some high priority thread to fetch the mouse packets as they are produced by the mouse driver?

_________________
... the osdever formerly known as beyond infinity ...
BlueillusionOS iso image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2005 11:18 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
beyond infinity wrote:
You by any chance have the video server spawn off some high priority thread to fetch the mouse packets as they are produced by the mouse driver?

hm. no, there's just one thread (iirc) active at the moment which is listening on the mouse port. If it doesn't listen 'fast' enough, messages enqueue and will be all processed in sequence when the receiver wakes up.

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:03 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/clic ... z?download
now comes with modes enumeration by the video driver and lookup by the video server (e.g. we no longer hardcode the video mode, but instead lookup for the mode associated with "l800x600x24-col").

In addition, the dispatcher has been modified so to allow the scheduler to decide if a thread is urgent or not. The current policy is to make threads that have terminated prior their quota urgent.

If you stress the system (e.g. load the "semdemo" module), you should see that this release will lead to a much more responsive mouse ;)

tnx, BI. I can be lazy sometimes too ...

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:43 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:59 am
Posts: 1600
Location: Vienna/Austria
*chuckle*
Gonna have a look at it at home :-))

_________________
... the osdever formerly known as beyond infinity ...
BlueillusionOS iso image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 3:32 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/clic ... z?download

can now enable 800x600x32bpp if 800x600x24bpp is not available, and therefore works on NVidia video cards aswell ;)

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:18 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:59 am
Posts: 1600
Location: Vienna/Austria
It works great in qemu - have not found time to perform a test on the machine itself (body demanded his right to sleep *rofl*). Even with semtest turned on the video server handled his mouse messages and painted funny stuff to the screen.

BTW: Happy birthday!

_________________
... the osdever formerly known as beyond infinity ...
BlueillusionOS iso image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:17 pm 
Ok, I tried it in Bochs.
I can get it load, although if there should be console scrolling, then that doesn't work. In fact, modula manager also seems to have some scrolling problems.

Anyway, I can load a single module it seems. Whatever I load, after that module manager refuces to load anything more.

Also, I cannot figure how to get it to do anything remotely like graphical. vm86vesa seems to give some VBE messages from Bochs but nothing really happens, except CPU goes to 100% and (like normally) module manager refuces to load anything else.

edit: I'd like to mention that VBETEST in GRUB seems to work fine with LGPL vga-bios, although being "slightly" slow (screen drawing take about about 3 seconds or so), so it's probably not me waiting too little time.

Did I miss something?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:24 pm 
Ok, tried again with ELPIN vgabios (instead of the LGPL one) and now it gives some BIOS messages in console1:

Code:
Modifying BIOS attributes(VRAM@0008A2B0)
BIOS access rights changes(VRAM@008A2B0)


Then there's some hex numbers on top of the screen (in console 1 too)... with [number] in front of each.. (i can take a screenshot if that seems useful..

Anyway.. ELPIN vga probably doesn't support the VBE you need so that probably isn't going to be useful.

Finally, with LGPL video bios enabled, bochs seems to eat about 50% of my system's CPU, even when supposedly idle. Don't know why that happens. (edit: it should be mentioned that with ELPIN bios this doesn't happen, and it doesn't happen with my own kernel and LGPL vgabios, so it seems to be something to do with clicker)

Oh, and vm86vesa now gave me a hard-freeze (not even console switching works) in bochs...


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 3:33 pm 
ok, tried the -fast image, and now I get something like this:

[CPU0 ] write_virtual_checks(): write beyond limit, r/w ED

It also switches to the "process viewer?" or whatever, and says:

Fatal error in mk-scheduler::suspend : GPF
Backtrace:
00:toplevel - 01:kinit -- 02:ksemaphore::wait -- 03:client:invoque -- 04:mk-scheduler::suspend --

Code:
[CPU0 ] | EAX=000a32fd  EBX=00000005  ECX=00c5a28c  EDX=007c9dc8
[CPU0 ] | ESP=00c5a070  EBP=00c5a088  ESI=00000004  EDI=00c5a104
[CPU0 ] | IOPL=0 NV UP EI PL NZ NA PO NC
[CPU0 ] | SEG selector     base    limit G D
[CPU0 ] | SEG sltr(index|ti|rpl)     base    limit G D
[CPU0 ] |  DS:0010( 0002| 0|  0) 00015d50 00000001 1 1
[CPU0 ] |  ES:0010( 0002| 0|  0) 00015d50 00000001 1 1
[CPU0 ] |  FS:0010( 0002| 0|  0) 00015d50 00000001 1 1
[CPU0 ] |  GS:0018( 0003| 0|  0) 00000000 000fffff 1 1
[CPU0 ] |  SS:003c( 0007| 1|  0) 00015d50 00000c56 1 1
[CPU0 ] |  CS:0008( 0001| 0|  0) 00015d50 000fffff 1 1
[CPU0 ] | EIP=0000b602 (0000b602)
[CPU0 ] | CR0=0xe0000019 CR1=0x00000000 CR2=0x00000000
[CPU0 ] | CR3=0x003fe000 CR4=0x00000000

is what I got when I powered off Bochs after the SOS state (or whatever it was)


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 4:57 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
don't worry about the "scrolling" problem: there is no console scrolling in clicker. Instead they warp around.

One thing is that the "vm86vesa" module is actually an internal early test module. that means once loaded, it will wait you to press [SPACE] at various moments to progress.

The 'proper' way to use it is to
1. load the module
2. move to blue console (SHIFT+F1)
3. press space bar until you see the bilou drawn
4. go on pressing space until it goes back to

The procedure to test the video server is to
1. load the "ioman" module
2. load the "scalltst" module
3. click the right button of the mouse
4. with nvidia cards, you may need to hit SHIFT+SPACE after that.

tnx for the reports. I'll investigate that ...

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:10 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
mystran wrote:
Ok, I tried it in Bochs.


OOww.. i forgot about that ... Bochs-2.1.1 as distributed by bochs.sf.net has a bug that prevents it from handling clicker vm86 mode correctly. The bug has been fixed in their CVS (but there are other issues with the last CVS i used, among other things i couldn't manage to use any hard disk image with it)

i made a workaround. If you're running linux, you may wish to use this bochs instead, or apply the the patch yourself ...

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 5:31 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 2:31 am
Posts: 5964
Location: In a galaxy, far, far away
mystran wrote:
ok, tried the -fast image, and now I get something like this:

[CPU0 ] write_virtual_checks(): write beyond limit, r/w ED

It also switches to the "process viewer?" or whatever, and says:
...
is what I got when I powered off Bochs after the SOS state (or whatever it was)


Hmm. Seems i can reproduce that even in my patched bochs, so that may be something of higher importance...

_________________
Image May the source be with you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:Clicker 0.9.2 -- test your drawing skillz.
PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 6:58 am 
What about the fact that I can only load a single module and then module manager refuces to do anything when I press enter.

It still moves the selection up and down, but that's it.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group