OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:27 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Arcrascent OS
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 2:32 pm 

Hello... I'm new to this forum, so please don't nail me down. I am a 9th grade student attending TJHSST.

This is my first OSDev.org forum post! :)

So I am working on this operating system called 'Arcrascent Operating System'. I've been working on it since June 22nd, 2013, in my 7th grade year. Its kernel, "ArcShell", is UNIX-compatible and supports a variety of necessary features, such as paging, memory management, virtual memory, vm8086 driver, real-mode emulator, full-fledged VFS layer, FAT12/16/32 Filesystem, EXT2 Filesystem, Device Filesystem, Read-only EXT3 Filesystem, PIT driver, RTC (real-time clock), ACPI shutdown & reboot, ELF execution, full-fledged UNIX-compatible syscall layer (installed to interrupt 0x40), serial console (codenamed "SerCon"), VGA mode 0x13, some VBE, and others... I've gotten through many obstacles through googling, but there seems to be a lot more I have to face. I hope (since all you guys are good people) you guys can help me out when I run into issues (especially heisenbugs)!

This is NOT meant to be a UNIX clone in any way. The only reason I have the UNIX syscalls is because I want to be able to port UNIX-based software easily. The OS actually has a more complex set of APIs of its own that exceeds the capabilities of UNIX.

Here is a screenshot of my serial console:

And this is a screenshot of me testing VGA mode 0x13:

I'll post updates if anything significant happens!

“One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code.” - Ken Thompson

Last edited by 0fb1d8 on Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Arcrascent OS
PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2014 3:05 pm 

Please take a closer look at the forums first - we have an announcement category.