OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:21 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Real Mode -> Long Mode, Directly or Indirectly?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:17 pm 

Hi,

Should I switch from Real Mode to Long Mode Directly or through Protected Mode? Is there a difference? Am I missing out on something by switching directly? I've read about an NMI occuring right after entering Long Mode causing the code to crash. Can't I just disable NMIs for the moment?

Thanks.

Post subject: Re: Real Mode -> Long Mode, Directly or Indirectly?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:03 pm 

http://wiki.osdev.org/Entering_Long_Mode_Directly

(As an aside, an NMI is what its name says - non-maskable.)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:09 pm 

I'm a noob and I don't know if disabling and masking is the same, but http://wiki.osdev.org/NMI says you can disable NMI.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:17 pm 

Disabling the NMI seems to be the only option to be safe until an IDT is set up, regardless of the method that you use to switch modes. Note that while disabling the NMI via port 0x70 is not architecturally defined, even modern Intel chipsets support it, so it is probably fine to rely on it.

managarm: Microkernel-based OS capable of running a Wayland desktop (Discord: https://discord.gg/7WB6Ur3). My OS-dev projects: [mlibc: Portable C library for managarm, qword, Linux, Sigma, ...] [LAI: AML interpreter] [xbstrap: Build system for OS distributions].

PostPosted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 3:42 pm 

Now that's something useful. Thanks!

PostPosted: Sun Sep 17, 2017 1:48 am 

sandras wrote:
I'm a noob and I don't know if disabling and masking is the same, but http://wiki.osdev.org/NMI says you can disable NMI.