OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Is this the correct implementation of a file system?
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 3:07 pm 

Hello all!

With AQUA 1.3, I'd like to have a proper file system. I am currently working on my own file system, and I'd like to know if this would be the correct way of doing thing. I'll exclude stuff that aren't important to the file system, like the sectors for language and swap partition. So here is an example, as I'm not good at explaining things. it has 9 sectors:

(start of partition)
1. This is a long text file that should continue for 512 bytes... (File1)
2. ...And it continues on to sector 2... (File1)
3. Here is another file.\0 (File2)
4. ... but wait! there's more!\0 (File1)
5. (any number of unused sectors between file allocation table and content)
6. 3\0 (sector 3)
7. File2\0directory1\0 (dir comes after filename)
8. 1-2,4\0 (from sector 1 to 2 and sector 4)
9. File1\0directory2\0 (max filename length is 512 - directory length chars)
(end of partition)

Note that when I write 3 or 1-2,4 the numbers don't stay in base 10.

Should this be a good way of "implementing" a file system into my OS?
Thanks in advance!

Post subject: Re: Is this the correct implementation of a file system?
PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 5:15 pm 

I have not implemented a file system yet, but this does not seem realistic to me. Some things that jump out at me (and I'm sure there are more to consider):

* how do you know the length of a file?
* how would you list a directory's contents?
* how would you find a free block?
* perhaps you want to write 16 blocks and want the to be contiguous for performance -- could you support best fit? or even first fit?
* what if you have a file at sectors 1, 4, 6, and 8 and sector 5 frees up... your file expands to another sector, where does it go?