OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Mon Apr 15, 2024 11:09 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: (Very incomplete) Concept design of an OS
PostPosted: Sun Aug 10, 2014 6:17 am 

Some programmers (me first) prefer doing before thinking. It's usually a bad idea, so this time I try to do the opposite.
It's quite a huge project and surely I won't implement it completely. I'll start soon, and I'll go on until I want.
Just a note: I'm not an expert. I'm a very newbie. Something I'll wrote will be wrong. Feel free to abuse me.
Another note: It's a really high-view of an OS. Maybe it's not an OS but a group of services. And the implementation it's quite impossibile.
But I would hear what you guys think about it

So let's start (I divided the system into point of views):

DEVICES
Each device/componenet have to be registered in the device manager. At the start-up, each connected device is initialized.
The category are:
  • Processor (Cpu, Gpus, microcontrollers, FPGA, dsp)
  • Main memory
  • Storage (hdd, ssd, flash storage)
  • Inputs (keyboard, mouse, webcam, mics, joypad, buttons, VR, scanner, bluetooth receive, ethernet, wifi)
  • Outputs (video, speaker, mechanical outputs like vibration, printer)
  • Bus (protocol that manages each internal bus: sata, pci, usb, battary management)

Any device have to offer an interface to talk with:
  • Processor: each processor have to specify its task, a CPU regster itself as n device (n = nr of core), a GPU register itself as n cores that can do only particular jobs, a random generator (did you see them? sort of USB that you plug in and gives you random numbers) register itself as default processor that generates random number. So if I ask for a random number, I look at the device manager's default RNG, and then I ask him to give me my random bits.