PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 6:23 am 

Hi Fellow Os Developers,
I am an engineering student pursuing my btech in CET,TVM..India,
I have compiler design this sem , I got an idea -- want's to check its
feasibility. The reduction in performace in
java is due to its iterpretative nature.... What i am trying to do
create an object code (which is platform independent) yet cannot
be executed directly on any system.For execution purpose the
this object code is to be linked to get the executable version....
This linker is a specialized linker which is platform dependent...
The above process need to be done only once (while deploying..)

This should be feasible,becasue almost any modern machine can implement basic data structures like stacks ,queue etc...

Plz advize....
I have partially compleated a compiler that produces x86 code( :( hopelessly inefficent) .. :D yets it seems to work fine .. Will submit
it when finished.......

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 7:37 am 

I am afraid this has already been done. Check out the Tao Group / elate. They compile code to a "virtual processor", with the translation to native code being done by the loader (on loading from hard drive), or statically by the installer for really critical code parts.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2007 8:45 am 

It's been done: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_Int ... e_Language

3. My brain got stuck in an infinite loop while trying to design the memory manager
Don't let this happen to you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:50 am 

Nope... CIL is source, Tao VP is object code. And I am not sure about the portability of CIL (ignorance, not fact-based doubt).

I have to insist, though, that Tao was earlier. I hate it when Microsoft gets praised for "inventions" that are nothing more than copycat of other's work. ;)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 2:58 pm 

Solar wrote:
Nope... CIL is source, Tao VP is object code.