OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:51 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Intermediate projects before picking OSdev ? (C, C++, asm)
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:21 pm 

Hello there,

I am an intermediate programmer, and I wish to learn about the more complex parts of an OS. Initially, I thought about trying to make a small OS, but the wiki doesn't recommend doing so before having obtained a lot of experience in programming. I'm not a beginner, but I'm far from writting drivers and kernel modules etc on the fly.

So my question is, what projects could I pick on to get good enough, if not in the best shape possible, to reach the stage where I can make my own OS.

I thought about it, and things like making drivers came to mind. Making system utilities, reimplementing existing tools... any suggestion are welcome.

I feel that I can do these kind of things in C and eventually get better at programming. But in assembly, what could I make that would have some kind of purpose ?

Nowadays, there's programs for everything and I feel like I cannot really make something useful that would not already be available.

What kind of projects do you recommend ? Ideally, things with a real purpose (no game dev), be it functional or educational.

Thanks you.

Post subject: Re: Intermediate projects before picking OSdev ? (C, C++, as
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:31 pm 

You may write a simple compiler. It will teach you assembly and how the target CPU works at the architectural level, object/executable files and relocation. This will prepare you for OS dev.