OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Mon Apr 22, 2024 11:29 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Qemu vs Bochs+gdb vs Bochs internal debugger
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:29 pm 

Hi all,

I'm working on setting up bochs on my Mac. From macports it works fine, but it doesn't have gdb stub or an internal debugger, and it's giving some problems compiling. I reckon I can fix it, but before I spend a lot of time working on that, what is the best option for debugging my OS:
- Bochs with gdb stub
- Bochs internal debugger
- Qemu

I've never used Qemu before, I've used both Bochs with gdb and internal debugger, but only briefly. What do you prefer and why?
I've read somewhere that Bochs GDB stub doesn't work with SMP. Is that true? Would that impact your decision?

Thanks in advance

Post subject: Re: Qemu vs Bochs+gdb vs Bochs internal debugger
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:38 pm 

I'm mainly using Bochs and its internal debugger for debugging my OS, so I can mainly comment on this one. Most important for me is that it shows lots of CPU internal information (descriptor tables, page tables, segment registers (including their shadowed parts), TLBs) and also information on several devices using the Bochs param tree. Displaying of this information together with other commands can be automated, so I can write automated tests and dump the results into a log file. (Most of the time I just do things like "set a breakpoint at x, run, dump register contents (and some other relevant information), quit".)

GDB is certainly a great debugger and it's usable with both QEMU and Bochs (with GDB stub). Unfortunately it has some problems with switching between 32 and 64 bit mode and crashes when I try to debug my 64 bit kernel, so for me it's rather usesless for kernel debugging... This problem used to persist for quite a long time, so it may or may not be fixed in the meantime.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2012 9:05 am