OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: an 8086 PC emulator
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 2:11 pm 

hi.. this is something i've been working on for the last 6 or 7 months, open-source written in C from scratch. it's a PC emulator that current supports every 8086 instruction, and nearly every 80186 instruction. there is much work left to do, but if anybody is interested you can check it out here

http://fake86.rubbermallet.org
^win32 build plus source .tar.gz for linux are available :)

screenshots are there too, so you can see exactly what it's capable of so far. also, i've written it all myself so far but if any other devs are interested in teaming up with me on it i am open to that if you've got emulation skills. one thing i'm currently interested in, in particular, is somebody with really good knowledge of an ethernet adapter interface such as NE2000 since i would like to add support for one using pcap.

i'd love comments, suggestions, flames, etc. if anybody has the time and interest to take a peek.

Post subject: Re: an 8086 PC emulator
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 5:20 pm 

HI! Wow good job, I tried it only with the rom bios but it seems to work well :)
I'm also developing an emulator (a 80386 emulator) for my operating system (so I will be able to analize the kernel in the kernel itself with the debugger. Good luck :)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:58 pm 

Karlosoft wrote:
HI! Wow good job, I tried it only with the rom bios but it seems to work well :)
I'm also developing an emulator (a 80386 emulator) for my operating system (so I will be able to analize the kernel in the kernel itself with the debugger. Good luck :)

both the source and win32 bin packages come with a custom freedos install floppy image in the image\ folder if you wanted to play with it more. how far along is your emulator?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2011 9:23 pm