OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:59 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Can a 5 year old program?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:14 am 

See this: http://wiki.osdev.org/User:Aj. This guy claims that "I started programming at age of 5 using a simple starter guide (documentation)". Can a 5 year old child able to read documentation and develop programming logic?. I think 5 year olds even not able to understand and read documentations or guides.

Post subject: Re: Can a 5 year old program?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 5:41 am 

Location: On the balcony, where I can actually keep 1½m distance
Children already draw at the age of one. That they have no idea of what art, style or technique is doesn't mean they're actually doing it. I got a few demonstrations when I was three or four, I got a book - specifically written for children - when I was 5 or 6. I should still have it somewhere even though the software stopped working since Windows 95.

So no, I'm not surprised in the least and it probably says more about the culture you grew up in (whichever that is) than the person whose biography you tried "fixing".

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 6:01 am 

Mozart was composing at the age of 5, and that strikes me as a more difficult task than computer programming. How many here could write a violin sonata?

Basically, you are accusing the guy of lying in his biography. That's not a very friendly way to interact with fellow forum users.

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:04 am 

muazzam wrote:
See this: http://wiki.osdev.org/User:Aj. This guy claims that "I started programming at age of 5 using a simple starter guide (documentation)". Can a 5 year old child able to read documentation and develop programming logic?. I think 5 year olds even not able to understand and read documentations or guides.