OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 6:23 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Wasted years
PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 2:21 pm 

The thread title is deliberately exaggerated. Have you ever felt that you have wasted a lot of time doing something that does not lead to anything? I have used computers more or less for my whole life but I started programming just a few years ago. It seems that the pre-programming period was totally wasted time when it comes to using computers. It is a good question whether using computers in itself is a huge waste of time. If those time-consuming machines are used, it would be best to do something productive. Programming, writing books, creating graphics, and composing music are good examples of productive work. I chose programming but a bit too late (bad pun intended). I should have started programming much earlier. It definitely was waste of time to use computers unproductively (e.g. playing games).

There is one problem still left because programming may not be very productive either. It is especially unproductive when you choose to do something that requires a lot of study and research before you can do anything. Have you heard of the operating system development? You may waste many years and realize that the only thing you have is a hard drive full of unfinished prototypes and tests. An outsider may call this as a waste of time. However, there is one product: know-how. Unfortunately, know-how has some problems. It may not be something you can think back when you are an old fellow. With bad luck, you may not even remember anything anymore. It is not something you can put on your shelf in your living room and show to your old friends. Know-how disappears.