OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Jan 18, 2018 11:54 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Using QEMU to connect to network, PLEASE help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:13 pm
Posts: 2
Hello guys, i just finish writing driver for e1000 on my kernel ,
After finding information on the Forum , i use TAP to bridge between my TAP network and the physical internet ( i m using Windows qemu)
When i successfully found my package in TAP , nothing shows up at Real physical internet network! i don't understand why.
What could be the possible problem?
i will like to offer 200$ for somebody to help me with this, thanks
if you know how to help me leave your skype email , thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using QEMU to connect to network, PLEASE help
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:13 pm
Posts: 2
UP to 400$, thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using QEMU to connect to network, PLEASE help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:59 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Posts: 222
Sorry, but, what TAP to bridge and TAP network means? I just finished network at my os, and I must tell you, it is not so hard to do...

may I can help you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using QEMU to connect to network, PLEASE help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 2:17 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2010 4:15 pm
Posts: 504
There are two common ways of getting network to work in qemu in Windows. Either use a TAP device or use the qemu "user network stack" networking.

With TAP you basically get a bridged networking. You probably need to set a fixed IP address with a TAP device as in Windows network adapters don't get a DHCP server automatically. Network interfaces are treated as DHCP clients. You perhaps can setup a DHCP server for that adapter but that would require extra setup.

The we have the "user" networking which is a network stack in user mode by Qemu. In this case Qemu has a built in DHCP server and offers an address for you. In this case qemu handles the network traffic for you.

I recommend using the user network stack options as it the easiest to use and works like you system is the client of a network.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Using QEMU to connect to network, PLEASE help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:38 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 1:27 pm
Posts: 424
I cannot comment on Windows hosts but for TAP networking, the same DHCP server that allocates an IP for the host should also allocate the IP for the guest if you have a DHCP client in your OS (which is one of the things you should write for your OS if you want to support networking).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group