OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:25 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: [BareBones Tutorial] Unrecognized Chars in provided code
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 5:14 pm 

Hello guys,

I realize I'm a newbie around here (in fact, I made this account to post this. Have been lurking for a couple of weeks. I'm a Software Engineer mainly dealing in C# and Dynamic C every day, so this is a change of pace for me), and hopefully this is not too obvious of a question, but when I try to compile boot.s as in the BareBones tutorial, I get the following errors:

https://ibb.co/cPcAV6
Quote:
boot.s: Assembler messages:
boot.s: Warning: end of file not at end of a line; newline inserted
boot.s:46: Warning: .type pseudo-op used outside of .def/.endef: ignored.
boot.s:46: Error: junk at end of line, first unrecognized character is `_'
boot.s:109: Warning: .size pseudo-op used outside of .def/.endef: ignored.
boot.s:109: Error: junk at end of line, first unrecognized character is `_'

The code is directly pasted (I wanted to be sure it was not a typo on my end) into Visual Studio Code and compiled through Cygwin's Terminal (I'm running W10) / gcc.

The lines referenced in the error can be seen here:
https://ibb.co/cywUq6
https://ibb.co/fJFTiR
Code:
46:    .type _start, @function
109:   .size _start, . - _start

I have read through the BareBones tutorial three times, searched the wiki and forum, as well as stack overflow and general googling. Of course, normally, an error like this is a typo. But removing the _ characters does not fix the problem. I tried removing the _ characters on the start function and its calls, but to no avail.

Thank you!

Post subject: Re: [BareBones Tutorial] Unrecognized Chars in provided code
PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:26 pm