OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:24 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: new-comer's questions
PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 9:07 am 

Hi, i am a new-comer to the OS development. i would like to develop my own operating system from scratch (that is from zero). i read OSDev Wiki, and understant that this will be either my new hobby, or, may be, the self-responsible step to be self-confident in the computer science, physics, maths, signal processing, cryptography, electronics, radiophysics, and other areas of science. i understand that this will take me into the long travel through the mountains, hills, and ravines of the modern science. i am a physicist-theorist in atomic and laser physics. when i was young (staright after my PhD in the UK) i could not find a job in High Tech area in the USA, perhaps because i was not self-confident in my narrow speciality, and did not have enough experience in programming. at the moment, i am confident in atomic, laser, and plasma physics, but it took me long time to makes research and self-education in physics-maths. at the moment, i am in Russia, and can not find a job (jobless) because of high percentage of unemployment in Russia. i firmly decided that i would like to move to the High Tech area, R&D. as a method-steps to polish my professional knowledge and skills in order to have self-experience and self-education in High Tech area, i would like to develop my own operating system. at the moment, i do not know to much about operating systems, how to develop them, which point to start from, i do not know about computer architectures, about the details of modern Intel and Apple processors (how to design and to make them in reality), electronics parts of the computers and architectures, and assembly language etc. i understand that i rise many questions that can not be answerd in one day - but as you see, this is only one way for me to find a job either in Russi