OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:37 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: INT instruction stack behavior in x86-64 (Bochs)
PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:38 am 

Hello everyone, I'm an italian student, and I'm rewriting for the fourth time (I still have a lot to learn about OS development), my simple OS. I'm trying to improve this version so much, so I decided to implement long mode, and maybe graphics for the first time, after a studying pause.
I'm still working on the bootloader, so my environment consists in NASM, bochs, other universal tools like an hex-editor, running in LinuxMint 18.2 'Sonya' on a HP P6 Pavilion (2011) machine. I successfully set up Long Mode, identity paging the first 4Mb of memory, and a basic environment, like keyboard's and RTC's IRQ handler(still developing to achieve HPET), but I found something strange when debugging my system call handler (INT 80h).
My syscall handler needs some quadword data to be pushed on the stack, just before the (r_flags if I remember right) data pushed by the INT instruction. Unlike common practice, I make the callee clean the stack, by moving the stack 8 byte upwards unless it moves the byte pointed by current ESP, then adding ESP,08h . This is done for every parameter needed by the called function. The only problem of this method is that it needs to know the number of byte pushed by the INT instruction, that's a known value and shouldn't be hard to find.
However, I found only partial data on INT instruction behavior in x86-64, so I tried to check it out by the following code(relying on Bochs magic breakpoint tool):
Code:
;IRQ's and NMI's are previously disabled, and current ESP location saved in memory
        MOV     RSP,1000h       ;Address totally free of useful data
        XCHG    BX,BX           ;First Breakpoint
        INT     81h             ;Calls int 81h handler written for this puorpose