OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: How do I use my Assembly for operating system development?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:17 am 

Hi.

I know Assembly but I don't know how to use it for operating system development. I know I can't use Linux system calls for making a bootloader. So what is a good resource? I know I can't use printf() C function for a bootloader. I got to make everything myself. So where is the best place?

I'm new to operating system development but I want to face it. It will be my hobby. I know it will be frustrating. I understand that it is not like any other task.

Here's an analogy.

I want to turn (well, I need to)
Code:
Put butter on bread
Then eat it

into

Code:
Get flour
Get yeast
Get a bread maker.
Put it in the machine.
Wait for the bread to cook.
Then put butter on the bread.
Then eat the bread with the butter

Post subject: Re: How do I use my Assembly for operating system developmen
PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:26 am 

You've already reached a good resource. Start with the "bare bones" tutorial in the Wiki.

And forget about making a bootloader; just use one of the existing ones, such as GRUB.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 12:36 pm 

I don't want to use GRUB or C. I want to use pure Assembly please. I would like a straight answer please.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:14 pm 

There's a ton of info on the Internet about this.

Just do a little research on your own.

Google is a good starting point.

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 1:15 pm 

My suggestion would be to start simple (the following assumes you are targeting x86 systems).

- You will probably need to call the BIOS: http://www.ctyme.com/rbrown.htm
- Check what others have done before:
http://mikeos.sourceforge.net/
https://github.com/ReturnInfinity/Pure6 ... ootsectors

-Ian

PostPosted: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:01 pm 

iansjack wrote: