OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:35 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Executable Loader Assistance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:12 pm 

I'm trying to learn more about all of the duties that an executable Loader is charged with performing generally and the order in which it might perform them. I am not currently building my own OS (yet), however I am a malware analyst and malware often screws with the executable format and it's headers to thwart analysis, detection, and/or even to prevent it from loading on some machines and not on others.

The thing is, there's a ton of documentation out on the Windows PE file format but obviously as it's closed-source, there is not a lot about the PE loader other than what's in the book Windows Internals. I figured, in order to get this figured out, I could try and learn about writing my own exec loader (and write one if it's feasible).

What I do know is that it essentially reads metadata about the file, uses that metadata to allocate stack/heap memory, static memory, set up the sections and eventually hooks execution into a thread at the code entry-point. I even know quite a bit about the PE format and its structs, but w/o knowledge of the loading process, I'm half-blind. One of the questions I have is, is an OS exec loader its own "module" or is it just a collection of routines which are generally found in the kernel that happen to be involved in the process? Feel free to link or suggest relevant material and please excuse my ignorance. I'm new but I love assembly and C so I'm happy to be here.

Post subject: Re: Executable Loader Assistance
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:18 pm