OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 1:17 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Why do all hobby OS's use IPv4 instead of IPv6?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 2:21 pm 

Why do all hobby OS's use IPv4 instead of IPv6? Is there any practical information / documentation for implementing IPv6? I am pretty new with the networking part of OS development, so I don't know too much about this ( = I don't know anything).

Thanks in advance!

Post subject: Re: Why do all hobby OS's use IPv4 instead of IPv6?
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:27 pm 

The RFCs for IPv6 are easily available and it probably wouldn't be much different from IPv4 from the OS dev point of view. The real differences as far as I can tell are in the routing infrastructure rather than the endpoint.
I would assume the reason hobbyists often don't use it is that it's a new feature that doesn't really increase your functionality so it's easy to put off. IPv4 is enough in 99.9% of cases, so IPv6 is a lot of work for the remaining 0.1%. Also, you can't just use IPv6, you need IPv4 anyway as there is so much outdated network gear out there and so many lazy applications that choke on v6 addresses.

Actually someone who knows more could contradict me, but I don't think there are any circumstances where IPv6 is necessary.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 1:41 am 

Because ipv6 is still not usable/not useful in the most circumstances.

There's no point implementing a not usable/not useful communication protocol if you will not be able to communicate with anyone by using it.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:34 am