OSDev.org

The Place to Start for Operating System Developers
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 2:20 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Post subject: Simple CD/USB boot-loader
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 10:38 pm 

I never seen any CD or USB boot-loader without FDD emulation. I dont even found any documentation about how BIOS loads such devices. Can somebody show me example of this code. Im just a beginner of system programming and i just need the simpleest code that could be I most forget. Can someone explain how to interract with USB in real mode? If there is no way to boot from USB without emulation, i guess i would be at least able to read my kernel(by the way i still didnt even proected - just want to have at least a valid boot-loader) from it. As i heard, FDD makes a lot of error while reading - so procedure of load would be very paintfull for boot-loader. I cant write a fully functional boot-loader what would excepting this kind of troubles because i just studing.
PS: I have already tryed to write a FDD boot-loader - so i understand how it works, but i used only Int in it - no ports.. Can anybody recommend me a book for study a port-based device programming?
PSS: Sorry for my english, have no time yet to improve it=(
PSSS: I use FASM.

Post subject: Re: Simple CD/USB boot-loader
PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2009 11:28 pm 

You pretty much depend on your BIOS to boot from various mediums, so you're stuck with floppy emulation. The BIOS contains a floppy driver that you call with interrupts to load a kernel or stage2 of your bootloader. Since it (probably) is impossible to write your own drivers in a bootsector to load something off a USB drive without this emulation, just forget about it. If you're writing your own bootloader, you need to use BIOS interrupts.

Now, if you're talking about USB drivers AFTER your kernel has been loaded (ie not in the bootloader) then that's a whole different story, where I recommend you start with the wiki.